Nevermoor – the Trials of Morrigan Crow, a book review


Title: Nevermoor – The Trials of Morrigan Crow
by: Jessica Townsend
Publisher: A Lothian Children’s Book by Hatchette Australia

Morrigan Crow is cursed. Born on an unlucky day, she is blamed for all local misfortunes, from hailstorms to heart attacks – and worst of all, the curse mean that Morrigan is doomed to die at midnight on Eventide. But as Morrigan awaits her fate, a strange and remarkable man named Jupiter North appears. Chased by black-smoke hounds and shadowy hunters on horseback, he whisks her away to a secret, magical city called Nevermoor. To stay in the safety of Nevermoor for good, Morrigan will need to pass four difficult and dangerous trials – or she’ll have to leave the city and confront her deadly fate.

Nevermoor has me celebrating for children, everywhere!
Firstly because of two words:

Step Boldly . . .

These two words speak loudly, and are a call to courage. They are two words that will stay with you for all the right reasons.

And secondly, because author, Jessica Townsend, has a “knack” with words and characters and world building.

Jessica took me on a visual and literary journey of delight with magic, wonder, fantasy and suspense. She had me turning the pages of Nevermoor, the Trials of Morrigan Crow with impatience, as she led me deeper into the town of Jackalfax, and then the magical city of Nevermoor.

Nevermoor begins with the prologue titled ‘Spring of One’, and we learn of the death of Morrigan Crow. When we turn to Chapter One – ‘Winter of Eleven’, we are taken back in time – three days earlier in fact. There, we meet the most feared child in Jackalfax, Morrigan Crow, destined to die on the night of Eventide. And this is where we make our strong emotional connection to her.

There is a lot at stake for Morrigan Crow. In fact, everything is at stake – her life.

As the brilliant story continues, we meet a unique character named Jupiter North. He takes Morrigan away from Jackalfax and into the safety of Nevermoor. But she can’t stay there, unless, she enters the Wundrous Society, but this can only be achieved by passing the four trials:

The Book Trial
The Chase Trial
The Fright Trial 
The Show Trial.

Meanwhile, a dark presence is watching, and waiting, for an opportunity. And  Morrigan Crow is in his sights…

Nevermoor – the Trials of Morrigan Crow, is filled with many A-HA! moments while you read, as pieces of the puzzle connect, leaving you feeling a sense of awe and wunder. It’s a magnificently clever, incredibly magical and beautifully heartwarming story that you will want “more” of.

Thankfully to Jessica Townsend, Morrigan’s next Wundrous Adventure is coming in 2018.

Purchase a copy:

Title: Nevermoor – The Trials of Morrigan Crow
by: Jessica Townsend
Publisher: A Lothian Children’s Book by Hatchette Australia
ISBN: 9780734418074 (paperback)
Category: primary school age
Pages: 448

IMG_0902.jpgcropped.jpgmoidtone.jpg midtones

Reviewed by Julieann Wallace
(Dip T, B. Ed, Published Author, Illustrator, Tea Ninja, Cadbury Chocolate Annihilator)

new quad titles

bk fr   embodiment front cover

Julieann is a member of: